“The Clock”

I know you’ll return, in each tick-tock of the clock

When moments of pain and sorrow run back

My sadness have fallen as the skies come black

Yet your ghost haunts me each time dawn cracks

 

I know you’ll return, in each tick-tock of the clock

That one day, on my door you’ll come to knock

I yearned for that day that I won’t be in shock

My confidence’s ample not a cinch to pluck

 

I know you’ll return, in each tick-tock of the clock

Here, I am thinking by my timeworn wooden rack

On days that you were absent is such a drawback

Now, to hold your hand is harder than any luck

 

I know you’ll return, in each tick-tock of the clock

Since clocks keep records, let’s visit, rewind and playback,

On the times when in your arms I’m kept stocked

Yet ages have passed, still in the yore I’m held locked

 

I know you’ll return, in each tick-tock of the clock

When your mind is clear, then so I will come back

I give thee my word, my affection will never lack

But for now, I’ll wait, in each tick-tock of the clock

 

The Clock by Justin

Theme Painting: “Seaside” by Leonid Afremov

2 thoughts on ““The Clock”

Leave a Reply

